Diário de uma estagiária na Jazzwise dias 8 & 9 + segundo artigo no website

Desculpem antes de mais isto ser um post duo, mas estes dois dias foram completamente malucos.

No dia 8 andei a ouvir muitos álbuns e a fazer mais press-releases e outra vez a arrumar a redacção para a mudança. Mas o melhor aconteceu á noite. Fui pela primeira vez á Pizza Express em Soho.

Eu pedi aos meus editores se pudia ir ao concerto de Antonio Forcione, guitarrista italiano, e eles deixaram. Deram-me imensos conselhos sobre que tipo de notas tirar desde os nomes das canções, nomes dos membros da banda, e fazer muitas notas de tudo o que eu me lembrasse.

Correu bem, o club fica numa pequena cave do Pizza Express o que só isso deu um ambiente mais intimo á actuação. O meu único problema com isto tudo é que os espectadores comiam ao mesmo tempo que assistiam á actuação. António tocou 12 cancoes no meio de pizzas a saírem e a entrarem do restaurante e talheres a riscarem os pratos e festas de aniversário o que veio a estragar o ambiente.

No dia 9 passei o dia todo a escrever a critica do concerto, a verificar os factos e a tentar escrever o mais possível de acordo com o estilo da revista, tentando conservar ao máximo o meu próprio estilo.

No final fiz 400 palavras que o meu co-editor reduziu para 200😦. não gostei de ver o meu artigo ser reduzido para metade, mas o meu co-editor disse que algumas partes nao eram necessárias e que com 200 palavras o texto tinha um flow melhor.Podem ler o meu texto aqui Antonio Forcione – 14/12/10, Pizza Express Jazz Club, London.

Vendo bem, sim o texto está mais consiso e os parágrafos que tinha antes nao eram SUPER importantes, mas mesmo assim preferia a versao anterior, esta:

Gig Review: Antonio Forcione play at Pizza Express Soho

Antonio Forcione, London-based Italian guitarist virtuoso played at Pizza Express Soho for a full house that had that warm, cosy feeling about it, mostly due to the low lights that hit softly the red pillars, giving the venue a more intimate scenario.

Was difficult to see who was there for a 35th birthday party and who was there for the food or just for love of the music. Certainly not an ideal venue for the rather intimate performance that followed. He even mentioned in the end of one of his songs “ Thank you for listening to me so religiously in a pizza club. That’s some achievement”. Nevertheless he sold out Pizza Express’ four dates.

Between camera’s flashes, plates of pizza coming up and down and orders being taken Forcione played 11 songs in his 12 and six string guitars and his custom-made fretless Uddan, a mix of the best songs of his 13 albums, such as, Sahara rain and Salsa and Basilico The concert featured his long term band having on percussion Brazilian Adriano Adewale, Nigerian Jenny Adejayan on cello and Australian double-bassist Nathan Thomson, the quartet played beautiful as a unit, it’s easy to see the chemistry between the band.

Forcione’s quartet moved effortlessly from ballads such as Stay forever to a jazz, classical, African mix such as Song for Zimbabwe, song mostly dominated by Jenny’s brilliant cello playing. He will also tell the story of every song such as in Spanish Breeze that was inspired by Tarifa in Spain where a Spanish local explained to Forcione, when he played there, that the place is known for being very windy and where people go crazy. The song as a result, was fully of flamenco influences with a mix of palm and string muting.

Forcione came back alone on the second set to play Acoustic Revenge with a mix of humour, plucking, strumming, tapping on his custom made Uddan the performance that got the most applauses out of the public.

One of he highlights for me was the music Tiramisu, Forcione jokingly explained that he wrote that music after his lovely relationship with a pudding. The song had a latin groove influenced, reminding me the Chorinhos (slow-tempo samba) of the Brazilian composer and saxophonist Pixinguinha, where Adriano had a chance to shine on percussions.

Overall was a brilliant performance of one of the best acoustic guitarists of our time

E voces o ke é ke acham? Qual é a versao ke preferem?

Deixe uma Resposta

